Dallas Native Jordan Spieth Leads the Power Rankings Heading Into the Byron Nelson

There may only be five of the Top-50 players in the world playing this week at the At&T Byron Nelson, but we will have the privilege of all these fantastic golfers take part in the debut of Trinity Forest Golf Club, – designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw. One of those top players who will try and tame this new course is Jordan Spieth, who leads this week’s PGA Tour Power Rankings.

“We’re excited because the ground in its natural form has ripples and humps and hollows that are amazing. It’s incredible how many parts of it look like (Pinehurst) No.2. There are a lot of lessons to be learned as we look at Pinehurst.” — Bill Coore when Comparing Trinity Forest and Pinehurst No.2

Fun Facts on Trinity Forest Golf Club:

  • This links-style course boasts tall natural grass, dramatic bunkering, and severely undulating greens
  • The course was built on a landfill which consisted of only ‘inorganic material’
  • There is not a single tree on the course—an agreement was made for a number of reasons, one being environmental
  • There are zero water hazards on the course
  • There are a grand total of  88 bunkers are perfectly placed on this course
  • Plays like a traditional out-and-back links course
  • The Trinity Zoysia grass is less than 1.5 inches making the rough anything but a threat
  • Bermuda grass greens will be running at an 11 on the Stimpmeter so the aggressive winds will not push a ball around on the green.
  • Players who thrive on a links-style course should find themselves near the top of the leaderboard as the course demands a variety of shots including many bump-and-runs
  • The Forecast:  Rain possible at the beginning at the end and high winds will truly test the players in through the middle rounds

AT&T Byron Nelson 50th Anniversary
Trinity Forest Golf Club
Dallas, TX
Par-71; 7,380 total yards
Purse:  $7,700,000
Defending Champion:  Billy Horschel


  1. Jordan Spieth (No. 3 OWGR)
  2. Jimmy Walker (No. 56)
  3. Marc Leishman (No. 16)
  4. Billy Horschel (No. 79)
  5. Matt Kuchar (No. 22)
  6. Beau Hossler (No. 82)
  7. Adam Scott (No. 65)
  8. Martin Laird
  9. Charles Howell III (No. 59)
  10. Ryan Palmer (No. 109)
  11. Branden Grace (No. 36)
  12. Daniel Summerhays (No. 295)
  13. Peter Uihlein (No. 57)
  14. Andrew Putnam (No. 284)
  15. Stephan Jaeger (No. 215)

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *